How to eat gluten

shutterstock_245254981

Gluten is found in wheat (durum wheat, spelled, einkorn, farina, farro, kamut wheat protein Khorasan and spelled), rye, barley and triticale. Gluten foods help keep their shape, acting as a glue that holds the food together. Gluten has gotten a bad reputation lately because it can be difficult for many people to digest. If you’ve been toying with the idea of ​​going gluten-free, here are some tips.

Here is a list of gluten-free foods to enjoy:

  • Potatoes
  • buckwheat
  • Avena (* must be labeled to avoid cross free of gluten contamination)
  • corn / maize
  • Rice
  • Quinoa
  • Amaranth
  • teff
  • millet
  • Beans
  • nut butters and nut
  • Eggs
  • fresh fruit
  • fresh vegetables
  • Herbs and spices
  • meat and fish bought without sauce or condiments
  • homemade soups (avoid bouillon cubes, barley malt, and all kinds of pasta)
  • juice (100% fruit juice)

foods to avoid when going gluten:

  • wheat
  • kamut
  • Spelt
  • Rye
  • barley
  • Oats are avoided in general, as they are almost always processed in mills processed grains containing gluten
  • modified starch foods
  • enzymes barley (found in most breakfast cereals), soy sauce, vinegar and distilled water (malt vinegar )

If you are 100% gluten free due to an allergy or celiac diagnosis, be aware of cross-contamination. Make sure you have the preparation areas dedicated gluten-free foods and be sure to clean appliances such as toasters background that may contain the crumbs of products containing gluten.

This article was originally published on http://www.aetrexblog.com/healthy-living/how-to-eat-gluten-free/

You May Also Like: